RiverLink announces new board members

July 22, 2013


The RiverLink team is excited to welcome four new members to its Board of Directors at their annual meeting on July 11.  

John Curry   graduated from Davidson College and the UNC School of Law and  is a distinguished and  well known environmental attorney whose client list included among others NRDC, The National Committee for the New River, The Audubon Society and the Nature Conservancy.  He has  served as President of the Conservation Council from  and as a member of the National Board of the Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)  from 1987 to 1992 and still serves of the NC board of EDF.

Ken Grossman, started Sierra Nevada Brewing in 1997 with $50,000 in loans from friends and family and has built it into the second largest craft brewery in the USA.  Sierra Nevada was named “Green Business of the Year” by the Environmental Protection Agency in 2010.  The company is the largest buyer of organic hops in the USA and its Chico location is powered by solar energy.  Sierra Nevada is in the process of opening its east coast distribution center in Mills River this fall with plans to grow hops locally and  expand  the company’s impressive environmental record throughout the French Broad River watershed.

Jason Wallsis the new district manger for Duke Energy for WNC.  Walls joined Duke in 2002 as an associate scientist for the companies hydroelectric relicensing efforts along the Tuckaseegee, Natahala and Catawba-Watereree river systems. 

David Whilden, is the Senior Trust Officer for Boys, Arnold Trust Company.  Prior to joining Boys, Arnold he was the Regional Trust Officer for RBC Bank.  He has served as chair of a variety of area non -profits including Deerfield Retirement Community, MemoryCare and UNC-A Foundation.  He has also served on the Foundation Board for Appalachian State University and Campbell University.


These new members join existing members which include:

Daniel Hitchcock, Chair, partner at Adams, Hendon, Carson Crow and Saenger.

Esther Cartwright, Vice-Chair, and controller at AvL Technoligies.

Peter Sprague, Secretary, and  Ingles Markets

Dick Hall, Treasurer, and retired aerospace scientist

Hope Ballew, manager TD Bank

Paul Dismukes, Retired Medical field

Barb LaGuardia Korb, retired AT&T

Brian Moore, Mission Hospital Director of Planning and Public Policy

Denise Snodgrass, retired UNCA College for Seniors & Leadership Asheville Seniors

Michael Sule, Asheville on Bikes

James Volk, Pediatrician, Henderson County

Debi Whitmire, retired owner Headwaters Outfitters, Transylvania County